Personal Training Testimonials

Sand & Steel Fitness Ratings

Yelp: 31 5-Star Reviews ★★★★★

Write Review

Google: 23 5-Star Reviews ★★★★★

Write Review

Facebook: 19 5-Star Reviews ★★★★★

Write Review

Personal Trainer Testimonials

Coaches -- Write your Review of Sand & Steel's Personal Training

Going Beyond Personal Training

“* The training is very much worth every penny. Recently getting certified with NASM, I thought I was already ready to be a great trainer. But the training from Sand & Steel actually teaches you to really be a great “Coach” and how to actually apply what I learned from studying with NASM. After completing this training, I felt ready to work in any gym, anywhere. This training helps you become a real “Fitness Professional.”

Brennen Mayes
May 23, 2017

Push yourself, it’s worth it.

“* There isn’t a better place than Sand & Steel in the area. The coaches qualifications go above and beyond to provide quality service and their skill sets can suit any clients needs. Clients are always gracious and thankful for the services provided, which inspires you as a coach to continually improve and sharpen your skills. Whether you want to go from a couch to 5k, get back in shape, or commit overhaul of lifestyle changes, Sand & Steel coaches will provide you every resource to reach your goal.”

Daniel Ward
May 24, 2017

Top of the line personal training

“* I started my personal training career recently certified through the American Council of Exercise. My first position in this industry was at 24 hour fitness. With little emphasis on body mechanics, functional movement, and mobility, my job was more or less a sales associate. Trainers were more likely to spend time cold calling than perfecting there craft.

With aspirations of becoming a better trainer, I found Sand and Steel Fitness. Both Paul and Dawn are knowledgeable and experienced in the field of Fitness. Through there combined multiple certifications, research of industry trends, and passion for fitness, they provide a standard for execution that is hard to find in another gyms. If your willing to put in the time and effort to learn to become a seasoned and knowledgeable trainer , this is an excellent opportunity.”

Max Rand
May 24, 2017

More than a gym, A community

Gymnastics CrossFit Coaching

“* The gym is not only ran and led by great coaches it is a community. Every trainer takes a personal interest in their clients and each other. You receive a friendly greeting when you enter the gym. Not every gym takes a personal interest in their clients, Sand and Steel takes it to the next step, making you truly feel like a part of a community. The Owners take a personal interest in the health and welfare of the Trainers which translates in top quality for the clients. The owners work with and harder than the trainers in the gym.

The programing is beyond the pale. I have been to more than 6 gyms around the United States with varying degrees of programing prowess. Dawn and Paul take a personal interest in knowing exactly what each movement does and tailor workouts to the client. They have extensive education and utilize it to the max. They are constantly learning new things and providing quality training to the Trainers.

If you are looking for not just a gym, but also a family, Sand and Steel is for you!”

Brock Flint
May 24, 2017

Sand and Steel: Where the client comes first.

“* My fitness career began about 4 years ago. I come from the sales side of things. Having run 2 global gyms I have a lot of experience working with clients and trainers of all different kinds. After running a big gym for a few years I got tired of the way the corporate offices treated customers. My goal has always been to help people be better, whether getting stronger or losing weight. The goal is to make sure the client is happy. Working for a corporation they goal was to make money, most of the time the client came second. I changed from sales to training and spent a year looking at different gyms in the area. I finally settled on Sand and Steel due to their incredibly high standard. This was the first place that actually tested my fitness knowledge and ability. My interview was not done in a suit and tie but in gym shorts and a t-shirt.

The standard for coaching here is so high it almost seems absurd. However it is for the benefit of the client. As coaches we can become complacent and that can’t happen in our industry. Fitness is constantly changing and new information about the body is being learned every day. At Sand and Steel the coaches are expected to be up to date with everything about the body, from simple exercise movements to the human anatomy and physiology. I’ve never seen clients get such quick results in such short times and it is all due to the amount of precious put into each individual client and their programming. When you’re a member at Sand and Steel Fitness you can be sure you’re getting a program tailor made just for you. Your success is our success.”

Santos Palma
May 25, 2017

A true whole body experience

The coaches here truly go above and beyond with every single client and every single workout they coach. Having gone through the mentorship program and becoming a certified personal trainer by Sand and Steel, I have completely changed the way that I view other training methods that I have experienced. Growing up an athlete I thought I knew a lot about staying fit and active, I have never been more happy to have been proved wrong. This gym and the coaches have completely reinvented the personal training game, taking time to analyze and break down every single fault in a movement pattern and taking the time to correct it instead of brushing it off and letting it happen. They take the time to figure out exactly what is causing this fault and through trial and error making sure that every client knows exactly how their body works and what they can do to help improve their mobility, strength and conditioning. This gym could not provide a more individualized experience and yet that is what the coaches are working to do everyday, bettering their skills and the programs. Sand and Steel is THE hidden gem of Alexandria.

Hannah Drexler
July 6, 2017

Great training at a great Facility

I have worked in the martial arts and group exercise industry for the past 4 years. I have trained people of all ages and skill levels; everyone from children, working adults, and competitive athletes. I was mostly self taught, but I knew enough to help people safely and effectively achieve results. I knew that I would need to grow my skillset in order to better assist the people I worked with, and when I saw the Mentorship Program at Sand and Steel, I saw an opportunity to do just that.

The level of coaching here is the highest I have experienced in the fitness industry. Dawn and Paul are both extremely knowledgeable and work to constantly build and improve themselves. The coaches here are insightful, helpful, and hold themselves to a high standard. I have been challenged and learned things that have refined my technique and broadened my understanding of exercise science. As an added benefit, I have also been exposed to marketing practices and techniques that are helping to diversify my skillset in ways that I had not considered.

I highly recommend the Mentorship Program to anyone looking to enter the fitness industry. It is a great experience for those looking to learn and improve their coaching abilities, or for someone who is looking for a solid beginning to their fitness career; Sand and Steel is a great environment that can help anyone take their fitness career to the next level.

Brian Leos
July 26, 2017

If you want to become a strong trainer Sand & Steel is the place!

In the time that I have been with Sand & Steel Fitness I have grown more as a trainer than I ever did in a commercial gym. In a typical gym setting there is a focus on sales over clients; Sand & Steel Fitness flips the script and focuses on the client. They teach you to grow from Trainer to Coach to Fitness Professional

This attention to detail given to each client is given to each and every trainer. The Coaching Certification goes into detail beyond what you will find in a textbook. They focus on real world application of movements. From training cueing to teaching the proper scaling for regressions and progressions. The equipment in the facility is top of the line , meaning you are learning to grow while using the best equipment. Since Sand & Steel Fitness seeks to train clients in the best and safest way possible they have a wide variety of unique equipment to use. I have learned how to implement Kamagons and Viprs into client programs as well as my own programs.

They train you to be the best well rounded trainer you can be and support your growth. From Professionalism to making adjustments for clients on the fly Sand & Steel will help you grow.

Rachel Garmon
July 28, 2017